top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDavid Hamblin

I Warn You

Regardless of who is selected by the Tory Party to be Prime Minister on Monday, I warn you.


I warn you that you will feel exhaustion – from the demands of multiple jobs and mandatory unpaid overtime you undertake just to put food on the table


I warn you that you will be exposed – to the elements and the market when the roof over your head is valued only as an asset from which wealth may be extracted in rent


I warn you that you will be cold – when you cannot afford to heat your home as energy bills are used to stoke the profits of privatised utilities


I warn you that you will have servitude – when Trade Union rights are dismembered atop an altar of free market ideology and those that would be your tribunes are to be broken by the press


I warn you that you will have injustice – where an underfunded court system suffers from a backlog of cases that will ensure justice will be delayed and as such denied


I warn you that you will have indignity – as the experience of your struggle will be dashed apart by those whose living depends solely on the controversies that they can fashion


I warn you that you will have suffering – when medical aid is denied by a lack of means as the NHS is starved of the funding it warrants


Whoever wins on Monday

- I warn you not to be young

- I warn you not to be defiant

- I warn you not to be old

- I warn you not to be working class





N.B. The above is a variant of Neil Kinnock's 'I Warn You' speech prior to Margaret Thatcher's re-election in 1987. I would whole-heartedly recommend reading the speech in full.


While I have significant disagreements with Kinnock on a range of issues (as if he would be aware of my qualms and needs my approbation) I have no hesitation in respecting his oratory or indeed his affinity for Aneurin Bevan.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by We Need To Talk About Bevan. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page